REVIEWS

Italy Photo Collection

Here's what our guests are saying about their experience at Cornells: 


 "We will be back!"
We went for dinner during parents' weekend, and even though it was completely booked with many large parties, we had a wonderful meal. Our server was attentive and we enjoyed ourselves. We will be back!
--Visited October 2016

 "Definitely worth the wait!"
There were two families together for dinner during Union's Parents weekend. I have been wanting to go there for 2 years and finally was able to get a reservation. Definitely worth the wait! The best eggplant Parmesan! and delicious side of homemade pasta. Everyone at our table enjoyed their dinner!
-Visited October 2016

"Excellent dining experience”
Food portions were large, and we had lots of leftovers to take home. Service was exceptional. We didn't feel rushed through our meal, but they anticipated our needs and were there to fill our glasses without asking. The restaurant was newly renovated, and even the other customers were a pleasure. They have a great clientele that ranged from millennials to families. My boyfriend is a food snob, but he couldn't stop raving about the food. We will definitely be back!

“Best Italian in a city that knows Italian”
 Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

"Great old fashion Italian with large portions and friendly service." 
The Veal Alla Mamma with eggplant was outstanding and was enough for at least two meals. Wife's veal saltimbocca was just as good. The bread was almost to-die-for. Saratoga olive oil on the table making the perfect dipping oil.

“Save room for dessert”
My scallops with lobster risotto was the best! It's been a while since we had been here and we wondered why it took us to long to return. The Zeppole for dessert was to die for. I can't describe those 6 rounds of heaven. It's something you must make room for. Trust me.
-Visited September 2016

“Superb every time”
Great chef. All orders are to perfection. Mainly Italian fare. Very personable wait staff. Great parking area. 
-Visited September 2016

“Amazing - Better than the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park!”
 Reviewed October 20, 2016

"What a wonderful find."
This is right in the Italian section of Schenectady, only a few blocks from Proctors.
Is was outstanding! We were greeted with a warm welcome. They took us on a tour of the many dining rooms for special occasion parties, etc. We ate in the front room next to the windows. We weren't planning on hitting a special but we did! 
The regular menu offers so many choices and everything people were ordering next to us looked amazing and smelled wonderful as it floated past us. 
The waitress, Liz, was one of the best we have ever had. Attention to detail consistently and very friendly. 
We ordered cappuccino and desert (which mine was to die for - chocolate and vanilla gelato encased in a delicious chocolate shell with a cherry)
I am a travel agent and will highly recommend this to all my clients.
For us personally - We will definitely place Cornell's on our list as one of our favorite local restaurants!
-Visited October 2016

“Fantastic Homemade Italian”
A good Italian meal in the Capital District isn't hard to come by ... However the fantastic meal is subtlety elusive. Acting on a good recommendation, Cornell's was up for a try. The atmosphere was good, slightly busy, service was prompt. The homemade cavatelli with meatballs was outstanding! I highly recommend making the trip to the small street in Schenectady.

“Good Italian dining!”
Good basic menu in a comfortable,casual atmosphere.
Veteran waitstaff provides excellent service. Nice bar area as well as good wine list. Parking on site is another plus.
-Visited October 2016

"We cannot wait to go back!"
Salmon with a special pesto sauce which was a gourmet delight! 

 "We love Cornell's!"
It was parent's weekend at our son's college and it is always a treat to be able to get him great food. We had reservations for 4 but as each of our son's roommates' plans changed the restaurant was gracious enough to keep adding to it. The 6 of us enjoyed the artichoke fritters and fried calamari. The duck, chicken florentine, chicken marsala, eggplant parm, pasta and meatballs, and another chicken dish were gleefully gobbled up! We all ordered the side of homemade cavatelli- which should not be missed. The meal was rounded out with zeppolis (omg delicious) and cannolis. The service and staff are wonderful. Cornell's is a must if you are in Schnectedy!
-Visited October 2016

"Would definitely go again"
Enjoyed a great meal at Cornell's prior to a show at Proctors. 6pm reservation left plenty of time to get to the show. The food was great, our server diligent but not intrusive and the ambience was fine. Would definitely go again before a show.
-Visited October 2016

 "Delicious...great choice!"
Delicious, large servings of typical home cooked Italian meals. Great choice, glad we found it on Tripadvisor.

 "Chef Mike has put his stamp on the cuisine"
We had a wonderful Sunday evening dinner with family. The food was very good, and the service was excellent. We used to visit Cornell's on Van Vranken Ave. when we lived in Clifton Park. But, after moving to Saratoga Springs, we got out of the habit of visiting some of our favorite Schenectady restaurants. However, when we heard that Chef Mike Pietrocola had taken over as executive chef, we knew that we had to start making more trips from Saratoga. The old favorite dishes are still on the menu, and Chef Mike has put his stamp on the cuisine with his daily specials.

"Friendly and prompt"
The service was friendly and prompt. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.

"Our favorite restaurant in Schenectady."
Our favorite restaurant in Schenectady. Elegant, Italian interior, quiet surroundings, extensive and very good Italian menu, with great, friendly service. We have been many times and have never been disappointed. If you want to alter a menu item, they are happy to oblige. They have several rooms with tables, so the noise is dispersed, creating a quiet dinner experience. You can hear the music. Located in Little Italy, a safe part of Schenectady, right next to several Italian stores ( bakery, etc. )

Share by: